Village of ST. CHARLES, MI

Village of ST. CHARLES, MI

Village of

Structure- Council/Manager Form Of Government

The Village of St. Charles is a General Law Village governed under the council-manager form of government by a seven-member council which includes six Council Members and a Village President. Council members are elected at-large for four-year terms and the president is elected at-large for a term of two years. The Village Council appoints a Village Manager as its Chief Administrative Officer who is charged with managing the day-to-day operations of the government. 

Village administrative staff consists of a Village Manager, Village Clerk and Village Treasurer.  Public Works staff includes a Superintendent, and three full-time Crewmen. 

The Police Department includes a full-time Chief, 2 full-time police officers and 4 part-time officers.

The Village also employs contract and part-time staff who provide services such as janitorial and building inspections services. 

 The VIllage of St. Charles is:

  • Governed by General Law Village Act- Public Act 3 of 1895: This legislation acts as Village Charter
  • Political/Administrative Subdivision of the State
  • Villagers live in the Village AND Their Respective Township- The Village of St. Charles is unique in that it contains residents who also live in one of 3 (three) different townships; St. Charles Township, Swan Creek Township or Brant Township

“Villages in Michigan are organized primarily to establish local regulatory ordinances and to provide local services such as fire and police protection, public works, and utilities.”- Michigan Municipal League, General Law Village Handbook